Faculty and Staff

Staff

Rossitza Guenkova-Fernandez
Department Assistant
r-guenkova@northwestern.edu
(847) 491-3611

Ganka Ivanova
Graduate Program Assistant
givanova@northwestern.edu
(847) 491-5488

We are available to answer your questions from 9:00 to 5:00 Monday to Friday at the Department of Religious Studies, 1860 Campus Drive, Crowe Hall, 5-179, Evanston, IL 60208-2164.

2014 Summer Hours Update: From June 23rd through August 31st, we are available to assist you from 9:00 to 3:00pm Monday to Friday.

Faculty

The department has faculty distinguished for their research, their teaching, and for working with students in the development of their research projects. The faculty have a long-standing commitment to teaching and are committed to giving students personal attention. Several of the department's faculty have won local or national teaching awards.

The faculty have a wide range of special interests, including religious ethics, socially engaged Buddhism, religion and the environment, American Catholic culture, bioethics, Rabbinic Judaism and Jewish law, theology, sainthood and mysticism, witchcraft and magic, Buddhist philosophy, Sufism in African society, and religious architecture. Having distinguished themselves for their research on these subjects, they bring their special expertise into the classroom.

Last Name First Name Title / Contact Information Areas of Research
Balberg Mira Assistant Professor
847-467-1746
m-balberg@northwestern.edu
Specializes in ancient Judaism, with a focus on early rabbinic literature
Bond George Professor Emeritus
847-491-2619
gbond@northwestern.edu
Buddhism in South Asia, specializing in Sri Lanka
Helmer Christine Professor
847-491-2616
c-helmer@northwestern.edu
Christian studies, theology, German intellectual thought
Hurd Elizabeth Associate Professor of Political Science
and Religious Studies
eshurd@northwestern.edu
Specializes in religion, power,
and politics
Ingram Brannon Assistant Professor
847-467-4170
brannon.ingram@northwestern.edu
Islamic Studies with a focus on Sufism and modern South Asia
Jacoby Sarah Assistant Professor
847-467-1304
s-jacoby@northwestern.edu
Indo-Tibetan Buddhism
Johnson

Sylvester Associate Professor of African American Studies and Religious Studies
sylvester.johnson@northwestern.edu
African American religions
Colonialism & Black Atlantic religions
Religion and American empire
Religion, Democracy, and the Intelligence State
Kieckhefer Richard Professor
847-491-2614
kieckhefer@northwestern.edu
Late medieval Christianity, church architecture, witchcraft and magic
Lassner Jacob Professor Emeritus
j-lassner@northwestern.edu
Medieval Near Eastern history Lassner
Lowe Eugene Senior Lecturer
847-491-5255
eyljr@northwestern.edu
   
Molina Michelle John W. Croghan Associate Professor in Catholic Studies
847-467-1304
molina@northwestern.edu
History of Christianity in early modern Europe and Latin America
Mortensen Beverly Adjunct Lecturer
m-beverly@northwestern.edu
Temple cult and Hebrew bible
Dead Sea Scrolls
New Age thought
 
Newman Barbara Professor
847-491-5679
bjnewman@northwestern.edu
Christian medieval religious culture
Women's spirituality
Barbara Newman
Orsi Robert Professor
Grace Craddock Nagle Chair in Catholic Studies
847-467-5175
r-orsi@northwestern.edu
American Catholicism
Theory and method in the study of religion
Seeskin Kenneth Philip M. and Ethel Klutznick Professor of Jewish Civilization,
Department Chair
847-491-2560
k-seeskin@northwestern.edu
Jewish Philosophy
Sufrin Claire Visiting Assistant Professor
c-sufrin@northwestern.edu
German Jewish philosophy Judaism in America
Jewish feminism, and Zionism
Taylor Sarah Associate Professor
847-491-4361
sarah@northwestern.edu
American Religion
Religion and Ecology
Women's studies in religion
Traina Cristina Professor
847-491-2938
c-traina@northwestern.edu
Roman Catholic studies
Ethics
Feminist thought
Vaux Sara Lecturer
847-491-2617
scv@northwestern.edu
Religion and film  
Wimpfheimer Barry Associate Professor
847-491-2618
barry@northwestern.edu
Classical Rabbinic Literature
Babylonian Talmud
Zoloth Laurie Professor
847-491-2615
lzoloth@northwestern.edu
Bioethics Laurie Zoloth
October 8, 2014